Category Archives: SP13

Spring 2015 – Prepare for Semester

notebookIt’s that time again, ECU faculty — Spring Semester! Here are some Blackboard things that are helpful to know as you prepare for the start of the semester. You probably have a long list of things to do, so this whether you teach face to face, distance, or both, this info will help.

  • Scenario: You are ready to make your course available to students. Solution: Login to Blackboard. Go to your Spring course:

Course Availability

Go to the Control Panel. Next, click Customization > Properties > Set Availability. Under Duration, please leave Continuous checked; do not choose the date selection option. Courses are not made available automatically – each instructor decides when to turn the course on for the semester. ALSO, please make your Fall ’14 sites unavailable (same instructions).


Course Copy

  • Scenario: You want your Fall ’14 course content copied into your Spring ’15 course. Solution: Course Copy tool. You can do this yourself with the instructions in this Course Copy PDF. Cautions and important notes: Only do the course copy ONCE. Do not assume “it didn’t take” and repeat the process because it will result in duplicate or triplicate content. During peak times (pre-semester), it may take a little longer than you anticipate because many instructors are doing the same thing. Do not do course copies multiple times for “pieces” of the source course. Do not do course copies if you want to import one or two exams. Use the export/import feature under Tests, Surveys, Pools. Your destination course (spring) will end in 201530 – please double check that you are copying to the correct semester.
  •  Scenario: You teach more than one section and use the exact content for each section and would like to avoid building duplicate courses. Solution: Section Merge. You can do this yourself with the instructions in this Section Merge PDF. You’ll find the Section Merge tab at the top of your Blackboard page once logged in (screenshot below). Caution: Make sure you merge your sections ending in 201530 (year 2015, fall semester is 30). If you make a mistake, do NOT click Remove; choose Modify.

Section Merge

  • Scenario: You use Tegrity for lecture capture, or want to use Tegrity, in your Blackboard course. Or you have Mediasite videos in your Bb course. Solution: Before you do a course copy or request a course copy, contact Allen Dennis or Percevial Murphy. Or visit ECU’s Tegrity Blog and/or Mediasite Blog.
  • Scenario: You are tired of seeing so many courses in your course list in Blackboard. Solution: Hide the courses you do not want to see. You can do this yourself with the instructions in this PDF document, How to Hide Past Courses.
  • Scenario: You would like to start using LockDown Browser to give online exams. Solution: Click the Blackboard Support tab at the top of your screen once logged into Blackboard. You’ll find a link for info, plus the URL to provide to students.
  • Blackboard Blog for PDFs, videos, etc. Faculty Support
  • Blackboard Blog for PDFs, videos, etc. DE Faculty Support
  • Blackboard Blog for PDFs, videos, etc. Student Support

Questions about anything? We’re here for you! Your Blackboard Support Team:

Making Past Bb sites unavailable / Hiding Current Sites


Making Your Past Courses Unavailable 

Hello ECU Faculty

The ECU helpdesk and Bb support staff are getting lots of calls about past semesters’ sites still being available from the student perspective.   Please make your past sites unavailable today or over the weekend.  Having past sites open is never a good idea because….

  • You generally don’t want your past students to still have access to course content and assessments.
  • It confuses students who think they have completed the course but still see it listed in the My Courses module.

Here is how to turn student access to your past course sites off.

Control Panel / Customization / Properties / Set Availability / Toggle to NO.

Making Course Unavailable


Hiding Your Past Courses

Many of you have called and emailed about how to hide past courses.  Hiding is a nice way of removing past sites from your view without deleting them.  A best practice is to only show the courses for which you need access, e.g., only the Fall 2014 sites. (You may want to make sure the course is unavailable to students first; see instructions above.)

Here is how to remove past sites from your MY COURSES view.

Click the WHEEL ICON in the MY COURSES Module / uncheck the courses you don’t want to see / Drag and drop to re-order if you want / Click SUBMIT.