Thomson receives Distinguished Professor for Teaching Award

Deborah Thomson

Dr. Deborah Thomson (pictured with SOC director Dr. Linda Kean) was presented a UNC Board of Governors Distinguished Professor for Teaching Award at the fourth annual Founders Day and University Awards Celebration recognizing “the best of East Carolina University” on May 1 in Hendrix Theatre.

Thomson, an associate professor in the School of Communication, was one of six ECU recipients of the award that recognizes and supports excellent teaching at each of the 16 constituent universities in the UNC system.

Also at the ECU Annual Awards Celebration, Dr. Rebecca J. Dumlao received the Scholarship of Engagement Award, which recognizes a faculty member for achievement in scholarship of engagement and a sustained commitment to partnered scholarly endeavors with communities. Read more about Rulifson, Herron, Zhang and Dumlao’s research at Dr. Pamela Hopkins and part-time instructor Josh Copenhaver were inducted into the 2013 Servire Society. The Servire Society members have contributed 100 or more hours of volunteer service – without compensation and outside their normal realm of duties – to the community at large within the previous year. Dr. Cindy Elmore was a College of Fine Arts and Communication grant recipient.