Mar 252013



Monday, March 25, 2013

Ten East Carolina University students received national recognition for work completed during the fall 2012 semester.

The work was in partial fulfillment of requirements for a bachelor of science degree in design, which is administered by ECU’s Department of Technology Systems. The recognition resulted from the students having competed in the American Design Drafting Association’s (ADDA) 2012-13 Design Drafting Contest.

Because of their academic preparation and experience, all the ECU students were required to compete in Category A (advanced level). Divisions were A-RES (Architectural Residential Design Drafting), A-COM (Architectural Commercial Design Drafting), A-MECH (Machine and Mechanical Working Drawings), and A-OPEN (Open).

Fifteen students from ECU’s architectural design and drafting course and 10 students from ECU’s geometric dimensioning and tolerancing course submitted entries. Contest committees comprised of experienced design drafters judged criteria based on the respective industry standards and ANSI/ASME standards.

In addition, the students’ work was examined in terms of the following: appearance/neatness, accuracy, line work, line type differentiation, view selection, organization (correct view placement), dimensioning, dimensioning styles, lettering, font size and appropriateness, spelling, title block, creativity, and reproducibility and legibility of plot.

Recognition certificates are normally awarded to each of the three places in each division. However, awards were not made for all places in this year’s contest because minimum scores were not earned by a sufficient number of entrants. The three awards are as follows: Board of Governors Award of Excellence (first place), Board of Directors Award (second place) and the Presidential Award (third place). Board of Governors winners also receive a $100 cash prize and a voucher for ADDA annual conference fees worth up to $677.

Winners are invited to accept their awards during the annual conference, scheduled for April 9-12 in Kansas City, Mo.

The ECU winners:

A-RES Architectural Residential Design Drafting: Board of Governors, Chris Morgan, Board of Directors, Cory Shank.

A-COM Architectural Commercial Design Drafting: Board of Governors, William Pate; Board of Directors, Anthony Undag; Presidential Award, Thomas Shreve and Alan Mabe (tie).

A-MECH Machine and Mechanical Working Drawings: Board of Directors, Benjamin Richardson; Presidential Award, Chris Senior.

A-OPEN Open: Board of Governors, Brandon Hackney; Board of Directors, Camille Mauban.

Students from the ECU’s Department of Technology Systems have earned awards in the ADDA design drafting contest annually since 2007.

via The Daily Reflector.


Sorry, the comment form is closed at this time.