Apr 072013


Sunday, April 7, 2013

Seven Greenville residents are among 23 scholarship recipients of the East Carolina Alumni Association for the 2013-14 academic year.

Scott Michael Barber, Chelsea Moselle Cox, Jessica Karsin Landis and Thomas Francis Mahar each received the $2,500 Alumni Association Scholars scholarship while Dominique Shane Rowe received the $2,500 scholarship in memory of Yvonne Pearce.

Kaitlyn Haven Dutton and Andrea Michelle “Andi” Justice each received the $1,000 East Carolina Teachers College scholarship.

All scholarship recipients will be honored at the annual Scholarship Luncheon on Saturday at the Murphy Center in Dowdy-Ficklen Stadium.

“These students are leaders on campus, serve their communities, and excel in the classroom,” said Paul J. Clifford, president and CEO of the East Carolina Alumni Association. “They are among the best and brightest students at East Carolina University today and they will be leaders in our community tomorrow. The Alumni Association is proud to call them Alumni Scholars and hold them up as examples to Pirate Nation.”

Each spring, the alumni association selects from 20-25 students for scholarships of $1,000 or $2,500 to be used in the following academic year. Some scholarships are given in honor or memory of an individual alumnus while some are given by a regional chapter or affinity group.

Eligible students must be full-time undergraduates with a GPA of 3.0 or higher and a record of leadership and volunteer experience on campus and in the community. Since the start of the program in 2005, the East Carolina Alumni Association has awarded 179 scholarships totaling $251,000, including this year’s 2013-14 recipients.

via The Daily Reflector.


Sorry, the comment form is closed at this time.