Apr 102013


2013 Hall of Fame Class Basketball

North Carolina coach Sylvia Hatchell looks on during the Naismith Memorial Basketball Hall of Fame class announcement, Monday, April 8, 2013, in Atlanta, Georgia. (AP Photo/Charlie Neibergall)

Charlie Neibergall — AP

Read more here: http://www.newsobserver.com/2013/04/08/2811733/hatchell-tabbed-as-naismith-hall.html#storylink=cpy

Published: April 8, 2013

2013 Hall of Fame Class Basketball

By R. Cory Smith — csmith@newsobserver.com

Sylvia Hatchell has done nearly everything that can be done in women’s college basketball. In her 27 years at the helm for the North Carolina Tar Heels, Hatchell has collected 636 of her 908 wins, eight ACC tournament titles and the 1994 national championship.

On Monday in Atlanta, she was one of seven members announced to the Naismith Memorial Basketball Hall of Fame for the 2013 class.

Hatchell, a Gastonia native, becomes the first female with ties to the Tar Heels to be named to the Hall of Fame, joining Ben Carnevale, Frank McGuire, Dean Smith, Larry Brown, Roy Williams, Billy Cunningham, James Worthy, Robert McAdoo and Michael Jordan on the list.

She is the third women’s coach to win 900 games, and has won national championships on three levels – AIAW, NAIA and NCAA.

In addition to her 27 years in Chapel Hill, Hatchell’s career includes 11 seasons at Francis Marion in Florence, S.C. Her teams at Francis Marion won 272 games and national titles in 1982 and 1986.

Hatchell was joined in the class by former Virginia Cavaliers star Dawn Staley, a three-time Olympic gold medalist. She was also a five-time WNBA All-Star and two-time national college player of the year with the Cavaliers. She is the only player in women’s college basketball to record 2,000 points, 700 assists and 400 steals.

Staley was the ninth overall selection by the Charlotte Sting in the 1999 WNBA draft and played six full seasons with Charlotte before moving on to Houston.

Staley now coaches the South Carolina Gamecocks, who won 25 games this season and made their second straight NCAA women’s tournament appearance. They advanced to the Sweet 16 in 2012.

Other members of the class, which will be inducted in Springfield, Mass., on Sept. 8, are Louisville coach Rick Pitino, former players Gary Payton and Bernard King, and former coaches Jerry Tarkanian and Guy Lewis.

The Associated Press contributed.

via Hatchell tabbed as Naismith Hall of Famer | North Carolina | NewsObserver.com.


Sorry, the comment form is closed at this time.