Apr 292013



Monday, April 29, 2013

East Carolina University will recognize excellence in teaching, leadership, research and service at the fifth annual Founders Day/University Awards Day convocation at 9 a.m. Wednesday in Hendrix Theatre in the Mendenhall Student Center.

Presenting the awards will be Peter Hans, chairman of the UNC Board of Governors, Robert Brinkley, vice chairman of the ECU Board of Trustees, and ECU Chancellor Steve Ballard.

Several UNC system award recipients are among the honorees at Wednesday’s event. Samuel Sears, director of ECU’s doctoral program in health psychology, received the 2013 O. Max Gardner Award, the highest faculty honor bestowed by the University of North Carolina system. The honor pays tribute to one faculty member within the UNC system who, during the current academic year, made the greatest contribution to the welfare of the human race.

ECU biology professor John Stiller received one of the 2012-13 UNC Board of Governors Awards for Excellence in Teaching. The award is presented annually to one educator from each of the 17 UNC system schools to honor outstanding contributions in the classroom.

Other awards to be presented include:

Six UNC Board of Governors Distinguished Professors Awards.

The James R. Talton Jr. Award for Leadership, ECU’s highest recognition for leadership.

Centennial Awards for Excellence in the categories of ambition, service, leadership and spirit.

ECU awards for research and creative achievement, inventions and the scholarship of engagement.

Scholar-Teacher awards.

Alumni Association Awards for excellence in teaching.

Faculty, staff and students will be inducted in ECU’s Servire Society, which honors dedication to service in the community. Some inductees will be honored with society membership for the sixth consecutive year.

Following the convocation, a 1 p.m. ribbon-cutting ceremony will celebrate the new location on the first floor of Joyner Library for the Office for Faculty Excellence, the Quality Enhancement Plan, the University Writing Center and the University Writing Program. A conference room in honor of Dorothy House Clayton also will be dedicated.

The annual celebration of Founders Day and University Awards Day commemorates the establishment of East Carolina University by the N.C. General Assembly 106 years ago.

via The Daily Reflector.


Sorry, the comment form is closed at this time.