Medical & Health Sciences Foundation announces five new board members | Daily Reflector


Monday, February 24, 2014

The East Carolina University Medical & Health Sciences Foundation recently named five new board members: David Brody of Kinston; Dasha Little of Chesapeake, Va.; Dennis Young of Wallace; and Kathy Walker and Lamont Wooten, both of Greenville.

A former chairman of the ECU Board of Trustees, Brody is the managing partner with Brody Associates. He also serves the university as a member of the Brody Foundation Board of Directors.

A 1981 graduate of ECU, Little is president and owner of Apogee Solutions. She is a member of the Women’s Roundtable at ECU and was recognized in 2013 as one of 10 “Incredible ECU Women.”

Walker established the Walker Distinguished Professorship in clinical oncology as well as the Leo Jenkins Center Coach Roggeman Cancer Research Fund. She is married to Dr. Paul Walker, director of thoracic oncology at Leo Jenkins Cancer Center and is an active community volunteer.

Wooten, an orthopedic surgeon, is an emeritus member of Orthopedics East and Sports Medicine Center Inc. He serves on the advisory board for the Harriet and John Wooten Laboratory for Alzheimer’s and Neurodegenerative Research at the Brody School of Medicine.

Young retired from ECU in 2012. In 2006, he became the associate athletics director focusing on major gifts and served as executive director of the Pirate Club from 1991 to 2006.

The East Carolina University Medical & Health Sciences Foundation serves the College of Allied Health Sciences, Brody School of Medicine, College of Nursing, Laupus Library, Leo Jenkins Cancer Center, East Carolina Heart Institute, School of Dental Medicine, East Carolina Diabetes & Obesity Institute and the North Carolina Agromedicine Institute with financial support, scholarships, education and research.