Monthly Archives: May 2011

ECU students selected for Moldin scholarship

Two rising juniors at East Carolina University were named recipients of the 2011-12 Moldin scholarship, which provides $2,000 annually for selected students in chemistry or biology.

Sarah Kinsley

Recipients are Sarah Howell Kinsley of Greenville, a chemistry major with a minor in biology and Hispanic studies, and Quan Nguyen of Los Angeles, Calif., a dual biology and chemistry major.

The scholarship requires a minimum 2.5 GPA and demonstrated financial need, and is renewable for the recipient’s senior year.

Kinsley received the scholarship in 2010-11 and was selected for renewal for 2011-12.

Kinsley is a chemistry tutor with the ECU Pirate Tutoring Center, an ECU Relay for Life participant and a member of the Student Pirate Club. She has been selected for the ECU Chancellor’s List, Phi Eta Sigma Honor Society, Phi Kappa Phi Honor Society, Golden Key National Honor Society and the National Society of Collegiate Scholars.

“It feels great to be rewarded for my hard work,” Kinsley said.  “I am excited to be able to only work one job next semester and be able to focus more on my last two semesters as an undergraduate.”

Nguyen begins his junior year this fall. He is a member of the Omicron Delta Kappa Leadership Honor Society and the Phi Kappa Phi Honor Society and an active participant with the pre-dental honor society, Delta Delta Sigma. He volunteers frequently at the N.C. Missions of Mercy dental clinics and tutors high school-level math and science students.

Quan Nguyen

“I feel amazing to have been chosen for this scholarship,” Nguyen said. “I know it’s a prestigious honor, and I can not wait to uphold that honor in a true pirate fashion.”

The scholarship was established in 2006 by ECU alumni Richard and Nancy Moldin of Wilmington. Richard Moldin, an employee of Metrics in Greenville, earned a bachelor of science and master of science in chemistry from ECU in 1970 and 1973, respectively. He earned a master of business administration from ECU in 1976. Nancy Moldin is a 1973 ECU graduate with a bachelor of music degree in music education.


ECU students win top two Zenith Awards

Two East Carolina University students took top honors at the 2011 Zenith Awards, a nationally recognized public relations competition for undergraduate journalism and strategic communications students.

The two ECU students, Kyle Walker and Richard Peterson, won first place and honorable mention awards in the electronic media category.

“Both Kyle and Richard have done fantastic work during their time at ECU,” said Paul Isom, ECU’s director of student media.   “They’ve grown as students and media practitioners and I’m happy to see them honored this way.

Walker, an ECU junior double majoring in communication and music, produced a news story called “A Mercury Rising Crime.”  The story examined the relationship between criminal activities increasing as the temperature increases.

Peterson, a spring 2011 graduate, produced a video called “2011 ECU Football Schedule Promo,” which is a musical montage with video highlights and the upcoming ECU Pirates football schedule.

To be eligible for the competition, the students were required to create their project either as part of a class or internship. Both students work with ECU Campus 31 television station. Within the electronic media category, students from across the country submitted web sites, blogs, podcasts, videos, electronic press kits and public service announcements

“Sweeping the electronic media category is a major accomplishment,” said Isom. “Add in some of the winners in other categories — UNC-Chapel Hill, Oklahoma and Arizona State, among others — makes the win even more exciting and impressive.”

The 2011 Zenith Awards, which had the largest number of submissions in its history, were presented during a virtual ceremony held April 29.

To view the award-winning videos, visit or    For more information, contact Cara Friez, ECU Student Affairs videographer and Campus 31 advisor at (252) 737-1104.

# # #

East Carolina Alumni Association’s Black Alumni Chapter announces honors

The Black Alumni Chapter of the East Carolina Alumni Association has announced honors for six individuals and one student organization.
The recognition highlights African American alumni, students or student groups that have achieved significant professional success or demonstrated exceptional leadership and service in the East Carolina University community.

This year’s honorees are:

  • Dr. Shelia G. Bunch ’76 of Greenville, director of ECU’s School of Social Work in the College of Human Ecology
  • James D. Corbett ’85 of Greenville, founder and pastor of Community Christian Church and Community Christian Academy
  • Derval Hamilton of Hickory, N.C., a junior exercise physiology major and lieutenant governor of ECU’s Circle K International
  • Vonta Leach ’10 of Houston, Texas, a fullback for the Houston Texans and avid philanthropist in his hometown area of Robeson County, N.C.
  • Mike Moseley ’80 of Kinston, N.C., a retired director of the N.C. Division of Mental Health, Developmental Disabilities and Substance Abuse Services who spent more than 35 years serving the State of North Carolina in various administrative roles
  • Brenda Myrick ’92 of Greenville, an administrator of Operative Services at Pitt County Memorial Hospital and a former chair of the East Carolina Alumni Association
  • Eta Nu Chapter of Alpha Phi Alpha Fraternity – established at East Carolina in 1971 – the first African American fraternity on the campus

Paul J. Clifford, president and chief executive officer of the East Carolina Alumni Association, noted that the honorees were recognized for “significant and lasting contributions made to the East Carolina community.

“Our university has been advanced and enriched by their sacrifices, accomplishments, service and leadership. They serve as an example to the Pirate Nation,” Clifford said.

For additional information, contact Jennifer Watson, assistant director for Alumni Communications, at (252) 328-4902, , or call the East Carolina Alumni Association at 800-ECU-GRAD.

# # #

Brenda Myrick

Derval Hamilton

James Corbett

Michael Moseley

Sheila Bunch


Vonta Leach

Alumni Association Announces Robert H. Wright Award Recipients

The East Carolina Alumni Associated selected four East Carolina University graduates to receive the 2011 Robert H. Wright Award, which recognizes excellence in service, leadership and academic achievement. The award is the most prestigious honor presented during annual commencement exercises.

Recipients are:

•    Brittany Leigh Carr – double major in biology and Asian studies from Mount Olive, N.C. , who will attend ECU’s Brody School of Medicine upon graduation
•    Deepak Ravindranathan – double major in biochemistry and chemistry from Calabash, N.C., who will attend medical school upon graduation
•    Parteek Singla – biology major and international studies minor from Greenville, who will attend ECU’s Brody School of Medicine upon graduation
•    Anna Elizabeth Smith – biomedical engineering major from Oakboro, N.C., who will enter the engineering field upon graduation and pursue a master’s degree

Paul J. Clifford, president and chief executive officer of the East Carolina Alumni Association, said, “These four students have distinguished themselves with their exceptional academic and leadership performance. We are proud to highlight their accomplishments.”

The recipients will be recognized May 5 at Senior Salute, a tribute dinner for graduating seniors and their families, and at commencement the following day.

For additional information, contact Jennifer Watson, assistance director for Alumni Communications, at 252-328-4902 or, or call the East Carolina Alumni Association at 800-ECU-GRAD.

# # #

Anna Smith

Brittany Carr

Deepak Ravindranathan

Parteek Singla

1 2 3