ECU’s College of Education inducts 35; raises $40K for scholarships

Thirty-five educators and education advocates have been inducted in the East Carolina University College of Education’s Educators Hall of Fame.

The 20th annual ceremony was held Oct. 27 in the Fletcher Recital Hall on ECU’s campus. The event raised $40,000 for student scholarships.

Each inductee was sponsored with a monetary gift of $1,000 or more in support of the College of Education’s Educators Hall of Fame Scholarship endowment. Annual interest from the endowment is used to fund merit-based scholarships for students. This prestigious merit scholarship program helps attract the best and brightest students to the College of Education.

The College of Education inducted 35 people in the Educators Hall of Fame during a ceremony held on campus in October.

The College of Education inducted 35 people in the Educators Hall of Fame during a ceremony held on campus in October. (Contributed photo)

This year’s inductees are all from North Carolina:

Jessica Lee Chiasson Adams of Washington; Delores Pride Ali of Timberlake; Lisa Yeldell Barmer of Washington; Robert L. Barrier Jr. of Concord; David Lee Batts of Greenville; Marvin Eugene Baugh of Greensboro; Michelle Rouse Bowen of Ayden; Julia Dawkins Brickhouse of Greenville; Phoebe Moore Dail of Greenville; Wilford Morris Davis III of Hampstead; Maureen Louise Ellis of Greenville; Holly Heath Fales of Greenville; Johna Lee Faulconer of Smithfield;  Cleveland Melvin Hawkins of Sunbury; Elizabeth Baker Hodge of New Bern; Amanda Oliver Holton of Creswell; Gwen P. Jeffreys of Greensboro; Stephen E. Kirk of Raleigh; Eric Kisling of Greenville; Johnnie Earl May of Greenville; Katherine E. Misulis of Greenville; Miriam Grace Mitchell of Cornelius; Susan Elizabeth Morgan of Rocky Mount; David Parke of Greenville; Diane Terry Sena of Fayetteville; April Shackleford of Wilson; Elizabeth Harris Sparrow of Greenville; Richard Kent Spruill of Grimesland; Patricia Stallings of Pinetops; Rebecca Stell of Bath; Dorothy Tolson of Tarboro; Sherry Smith Tripp of Greenville; Ivan G. Wallace of Farmville; Christine Marie Wilson of Greenville; and Tomegia M. Winston of Spring Hope.

Since 1999, the Educators Hall of Fame has recognized the service and contributions of 509 individuals who have impacted the lives of others, the field of education and the College of Education at ECU. The annual event has raised more than $613,000 toward the endowment goal of $1 million for Educators Hall of Fame Scholarships.

Following the ceremony, a reception was held on the first floor of Speight Building and the adjoining courtyard so inductees and guests would have the opportunity to view the Educators Hall of Fame wall.

The Hall of Fame is the brainchild of Bob Sawyer, a retired teacher, ECU graduate and former chair of the Dean’s Advisory Council. Sawyer, a college swimmer and charter member of ECU’s Sports Hall of Fame, believed that teachers deserved the same recognition as athletes.


-by Terah Archie, College of Education Office of Community Relations and Outreach