Category Archives: Staff Senate

ECU Staff Senate receives $2,000 for Gail Jordan Memorial Scholarship

At the $2,000 check presentation for the Gail Jordan Scholarship Fund are, left to right, Justin Boulmay, ECU Staff Senate secretary; Mandee Foushee Lancaster, ECU Staff Senate chair-elect; Mary Susan Williams, ECU Staff Senate chair; Rebecca Mikell and Ian Brinkley of Liberty Mutual; and Becky Vaughn, ECU director of benefits. (Photo by Doug Boyd)


The East Carolina University Staff Senate will accept a $2,000 check for the Gail Jordan Memorial Scholarship fund April 19 at the senate’s regular meeting.

The fund was initiated last year to provide financial support to ECU employees who wish to grow personally and professionally within their careers. Awards help employees pay for tuition and fees not covered under the university’s tuition waiver program.

Gail Jordan

The scholarship was named for a longstanding ECU employee, Gail Jordan, who retired with 36 years as a state employee. After four years in the North Carolina Department of Revenue, Jordan began working with ECU in 1973. She retired in 2005, receiving the Founders Day Award for service to the university.

Soon after her retirement, Jordan died following a battle with cancer.

Staff Senate nominations open

East Carolina University staff members who wish to join the Staff Senate are encouraged to submit nominations by March 25, using the ASK survey system in OneStop. Staff members may nominate themselves or another employee who is eligible to become a staff senator.

Membership is open to full-time SPA employees, CSS employees, and non-teaching EPA employees with permanent status. The SPA, CSS, and non-teaching EPA employees within each division elect senators for their respective divisions to two-year terms. Each division elects one senator for every 100 SPA, CSS, and non-teaching EPA employees within the division. Prospective senators must have direct supervisor approval for participation in the Staff Senate before the nomination form is submitted. Human Resources will certify each nominee’s eligibility.

Elections will be held April 4 through April 25.

For additional information, visit