Department of English News

Remember the Date!!!

Greetings fellow English enthusiasts!


English Club will be holding its next meeting on Tuesday, September 15th at 5:30 pm in the English Lounge on the second floor of Bate (room 2136). During this meeting, we will be holding a poetry reading. Bring in a work of poetry written by either yourself or someone else that you feel will tell us a little something about yourself. Given that this topic is a bit vague, you have a lot of room to be creative! As always, tasty snacks will be provided to all who attend the meeting!


Also, if you couldn’t make it to our last meeting, you can still join us for this one! We maintain a very casual environment at our English Club meetings and anyone is welcome to join, whether you are an English major or not!


We hope to see some new and not-so-new faces at this meeting!

Frost coedits special issue on rhetorics of health and medicine

Congratulations to Dr. Erin A. Frost, Assistant Professor, who co-edited a special issue of Communication Design Quarterly on the rhetorics of health and medicine with Lisa Meloncon from University of Cincinnati. Their lead article, “Charting an Emerging Field: The Rhetorics of Health and Medicine and Its Importance in Communication Design,” provides a comprehensive essay that surveys prior work as well as situates the special issue’s contributions to the field of medical and health rhetorics.

Wilson-Okamura wins MacCaffrey prize

Congratulations to Professor David Wilson-Okamura, who will be the recipient of the International Spenser Society’s Isabel MacCaffrey prize for the best book on Spenser published anywhere in the world in 2013 and 2014.  Dr. Wilson-Okamura’s award-winning book is Spenser’s International Style, published in 2013.  He will receive the award at the MLA convention in Austin, Texas, in January 2016.

Feder wins First Year Faculty Advocate award

Dr. Helena Feder, associate professor in the Department of English and director of the Great Books Interdisciplinary Program, has received the “First Year Faculty Advocate” award from the ECU Office of Student Transitions. Following their first year, students are asked to nominate an individual who most influenced their first year, and Dr. Feder was selected as this year’s winner. She was presented with the award at the new student Convocation on August 23.  Congratulations, Dr. Feder!

Visiting scholar Jing Yang focuses on martial arts cinema

Dr. Jing Yang





The ECU Department of English welcomes visiting scholar Jing Yang. Dr. Yang is associate professor in the department of English Language and Culture, Guangdong University of Foreign Studies, China.

Her research project is about martial arts cinema in the age of globalization, and she hopes to soon finish several papers on recent Chinese cinema’s strategies for commercialization. Dr. Yang will also be available for guest lectures on Chinese cinema.

2015 W. Keats Sparrow Award winners announced

The winners of the 2015 W. Keats Sparrow Award have been announced.

Drew Navarro earned first place honors with a work entitled “At the Crossroads of Empathy and Evidence in Modern Medicine.” The second place entry, “Alzheimer’s Care: Getting Better,” was written by Jenna Pate. Mia Andriana Leone placed third for “US Dollar Verse Chinese Yuan: A Global Currency Cat Fight.”

The award recognizes excellence in research and writing by students in East Carolina University’s English 1100 & 1200/2201 composition classes. The award is sponsored by the Friends of Joyner Library and is named in honor of Dr. W. Keats Sparrow, Professor Emeritus of English and Former Dean of the College of Arts and Sciences.

Also deserving recognition are the instructors of the English 1200 sections that produced the winners. Leanne Smith was Drew Navarro and Jenna Pate’s instructor, while Dr. Marianne Montgomery was Mia Andriana Leone’s instructor.

Learn more here:

Bauer named distinguished professor


Professor Margaret Bauer was recently named a Harriot College of Arts & Sciences Distinguished Professor. A lecture in her honor is scheduled for 8 p.m., Sept. 24, in the Speight Auditorium of the Jenkins Fine Arts Center. This lecture features Art Director Dana Ezzell Gay of the North Carolina Literary Review (which Bauer edits) explaining the magic she performs in designing the content of each issue.

NCLR publishes new issue

NCLR cover


Interviews with Elaine Neil Orr and Monique Truong • An Essay on Randall Jarrell by James Applewhite • European Scholars Read Charles Chesnutt and Paul Green • An Essay on Historical Fiction by Philip Gerard • The Doris Betts Fiction Prize Story by Laura Herbst • The James Applewhite Prize Poem by Elizabeth W. Jackson • And more . . .

2014-15 Department Faculty Awards

The following awards were given at today’s faculty meeting:

Associate Professor Will Banks won the 2014-15 Bertie Fearing Excellence in Teaching Award. This award is given based on course planning, approaches to feedback/discussion, student evaluations, and self-reflection.

Associate Professor John Hoppenthaler and Professor Margaret Bauer shared the Research and Creative Activity Award. Hoppenthaler published a collection of poems entitled Domestic Garden, has been an active member of the literary community in North Carolina and beyond, gave 15 readings last year, and published 5 interviews with writers. Bauer published a monograph entitled A Study in Scarlet, put out a critical edition of Paul Green’s play the House of Connelly, an article, five refereed book chapters, and three conference presentations.

Teaching Instructor Timm Hackett and Associate Professor Amanda Klein were both honored for their service. Hackett’s distance education efforts are especially noteworthy; he also has provided individualized tutorials on programs like LiveScribe and OneNote. Klein has been deeply dedicated to undergraduate education, coordinates film studies minor, and has been a leader in establishing Concerned NC Educators.

In addition, Associate Professor Helena Feder won the First Year Faculty Advocate Award.