Nursing welcomes visiting scholar from Finland, awards announced

East Carolina University’s Beta Nu Chapter of Sigma Theta Tau, the international honor society of nursing, welcomes two distinguished speakers at the chapter’s induction ceremony Oct. 18.

The special guests are Dr. Kim Crickmore Osborne, vice president of operations and care navigation at Vidant Medical Center, and Dr. Maj-Helen Nyback from Novia University of Applied Sciences in Vasa, Finland. Nyback recently joined the chapter and will be formally inducted today. Her research interests include cultural competence and developing new learning environments in nursing.

ECU’s Beta Nu Chapter recently received notification of two awards. The Showcase of Regional Excellence Award recognizes chapters in each region for achievements in four call-for-action areas: Creating your Legacy, Engaging in Collaboration, Responding to Vulnerable Populations and Embracing Technology. Beta Nu is being honored for Creating your Legacy by Region 13 Coordinator Jayne Lutz.

On the international level, ECU’s chapter has received its 11th Chapter Key Award. The award was established in 1991 to honor chapters that exemplify activities in membership recruitment and retention, leadership and professional development, collaboration across local, regional and international areas, and in publicity and programming.  Beta Nu Chapter is one of only two chapters in the world to receive 11 awards. Beta Nu Chapter President Pam Reis will receive the award at Sigma Theta Tau International’s  42nd Biennial Convention in Indianapolis in November.