ECU’s Joyner Library hosts inaugural program for the Michael F. Bassman Honors Thesis Award

J.Y. Joyner Library at East Carolina University will honor Daniel Landon Allen, the first winner of the Michael F. Bassman Honors Thesis Award, on Dec. 7.

An Honors Student and EC Scholar, Landon Allen graduated summa cum laude with University Honors in May 2010. He completed dual degrees in Biology and Chemistry with a minor in Business Administration and a certificate in Hispanic Studies. During his undergraduate career, Landon won multiple awards:  an Elite Pirate Leadership Award, the Keith D Holmes Scholastic Chemistry Achievement Award, the Robert H. Wright Alumni Leadership Award, the Thomas Harriot College of Arts and Sciences Academic Award, and several ECU Research and Creative Achievement Week awards. Landon’s winning thesis project “A Literature and Experiment Based Evaluation of Synthesis Techniques for Prothymosin-a Derived Peptides” was completed under the direction of Dr. Colin Burns in the Department of Chemistry.  Landon is completing his Master’s of Business Administration degree at ECU and will enter the Brody School of Medicine in Fall 2011.

The Michael F. Bassman Honors Thesis Award was established in 2010 to recognize excellence in research and writing by students in East Carolina University’s Honors College.  The award, in the amount of $500, is sponsored by the Joyner Library and honors Dr. Michael F. Bassman, Associate Professor of Foreign Languages & Literatures, formerly Associate Vice Chancellor of the Honors Program, and its first Distinguished Honors Professor.

The award will be presented at a ceremony in Joyner Library on Tuesday December 7, 2010 in the Administrative Conference Room, Room 2409, 2nd floor of the library.  Dr. Bassman will be in attendance for the program.

This event is open to the public.  For more information, contact Dawn Wainwright at (252) 328-4090.

Leave a Reply