How to Backup Moodle Course

 
  1. Login to Moodle.  http://moodle.aos.ecu.edu
  2. Now enter the course that you would like to Backup or Save.
  3. Once you are in the course, click on the “Backup” link.  This should be located on the left hand side of the page.
  4. On the next screen, you will then need to click on the “None” link, right above the “User Data” check box at the top of the page unless you want the students data backed up or saved.  This will uncheck the “User Data” checkbox and all the checkboxes below it.
  5. Now scroll down the page to the “Backup role assignments for these roles” section and click on the “None” link located near the bottom of the page.  It is right below the “Guest copy 1” checkbox.  If you would like the students in this course backed up you will need to leave that checkboxes checked.  By clicking the “None” link this will uncheck all the checkboxes in the “Backup role assignments for these roles” section.
  6. If you would like to add the current teacher to the new course you can then put a check box in the “Teacher” checkbox.
  7. Now you will need to click the “Continue” button at the bottom of the page.  You will now see a screen that displays a list of “Back up details” which show how many files are being copied over.
  8. You will now need to click the “Continue” button again to see if the backup was successful or not.   If the backup was successful, click the “Continue” button again.
  9. You will now need to identify the “backup” course you just created.  It will look something like the following:  backup-itec2000-20100916-1449.zip .  If there are several files here please look closely at the date and you should see one matching the date and time you did the backup.
  10. Once you identify the correct backup you will then need to click on the “Restore” link to the right of the actual file.
  11. On the next screen click “Yes” when asked to continue
  12. On the next screen we list all the details of what is in your course, you will just need to simply scroll to the bottom and click the “Continue” button.
  13. 1Choose the “Restore to” destination of where you would like to restore the course (i.e. -which semester)
  14. Edit the “Short Name” for the course, as well as the “Full name
  15. Next, scroll to the bottom of the page and click “Continue
  16. Next, it will bring you to a screen to restore role, or you may do so later.