Thank you

The Nooherooka 300 Commemoration has come about with the generous support and cooperation of many across North Carolina and many others in the East Carolina University community. We hereby to express a hearty nya:weh to one and all.


Tuscarora Nation–Neil Patterson, Sr., and Vincent Schiffert, Nooherooka 300 delegates

Greene County Historical Museum, Snow Hill, NC–especially George Mewborn III

Family of George L. Mewborn, Jr. (1916-2009)

Office of State Archaeologist–Dolores Hall, Deputy State Archaeologist

Preservation North Carolina–J. Myrick Howard, President

Native American Graves Protection and Repatriation Office, National Park Service

South Carolina Historical Society–Faye L. Jensen, Executive Director

Society of Colonial Wars in the State North Carolina

Society of Colonial Dames, North Carolina Chapter–Elizabeth Sparrow

Larry E. Tise–Historian

Nooherooka Natural–The Kearney Family

Blizzard Farms–Donald Blizzard


East Carolina University Engagement

General AdministrationSteve Ballard, Chancellor

      Marilyn Sheerer, Senior Vice Chancellor and Provost

      Ron Mitchelson, Interim Vice Chancellor for Research

            Diplomatic and Public Engagement

            Historic Property Protection

            Financial Support for Nooherooka 300 Projects

            Phi Kappa Phi

            Department of Facility Services–John D. Gill, Campus Landscape Architect

            University Printing and Graphics–AnnWeingartz and Earlene Mills

Thomas Harriot College of Arts & Sciences–Alan White, Dean

History Department–Gerald J. Prokopowicz, Chair

Phi Alpha Theta–Wade Dudley, Faculty Advisor

Anthropology Department–I. Randolph Daniel, Interim Chair, and Charles Ewen, Director of Phelps Anthropology Laboratory

Biology Department–Jeffrey S. McKinnon, Chair, and Elizabeth Thompson

ECU Conservator–Susanne Grieve

College of Fine Arts and Communication

School of Art and Design–Michael Ehlbeck and Hanna Jubran, Professors

School of Communication–Jin-Ae Kang, Assistant Professor

Joyner Library–Janice Lewis, Interim Dean, Robert James, and Joseph Barricella

ITCS–Wendy Creasey, Director of Academic Technology

University Multimedia–Laurie Godwin

Second Life–Sharon Kibbe and Paul Lamere

 Undergraduate Volunteer–Lyndsey Anne Sweet

ECU TV–Thomas Skinner