ECU professor receives national educator award

An East Carolina University professor in the College of Human Ecology received a national award at the American Hotel and Lodging Association Summer Summit in Houston June 19.



Cynthia Deale was presented the 2013 Lamp of Knowledge Award for Outstanding Educator in the United States from the American Hotel & Lodging Educational Institute.

Deale is an associate professor in ECU’s School of Hospitality Leadership and an affiliate faculty member of ECU’s Center for Sustainable Tourism. Her research interests include teaching and learning in hospitality and tourism, hospitality tourism management practices, service and sustainable hospitality.

Deale is a past president of the Council on Hotel, Restaurant and Institutional Education and a long-time supporter of the educational institute’s certified hospitality educator program. She is one of the first professors to incorporate guest service gold and the certified guest service professional into her introduction to hospitality curriculum. She was also a significant contributor to the development of the STAR certification in hotel industry analytics, which was introduced to college and university hospitality programs this year.

For additional information about the American Hotel and Lodging  Educational Institute, visit


Interior Design and Merchandising students receive national scholarships

By Sara Hocutt
College of Human Ecology

Two East Carolina University students in the College of Human Ecology were selected for nationally-competitive 2013-14 scholarships based on academic performance, industry engagement and faculty recommendations.



Interior design student Angela Truehill was one of six recipients in the nation to receive the Celia Moh Scholarship, which pays full tuition, room, board and fees.  Entrepreneur Laurence Moh, founder of University Furniture and Fine Furniture Design, created the Celia Moh scholarship program in 2001 to honor his wife.

Merchandising student Shelby Richards received the National Retail Foundation’s Ray M. Greenly Scholarship, which includes a $5,000 payment towards her school expenses. Richards will also represent ECU at the Annual Summit in Chicago in September.

Truehill, a rising senior, said she was overjoyed with the news about the scholarship and excited about finishing her degree to become an interior designer. “Receiving this scholarship . . . will allow me to devote more of my attention to studying interior design, instead of working to pay for college,” she said.



Richards noted that the scholarship will open new opportunities for her in the fashion merchandising industry. “My plans are to go to a big city and work with a large retail corporation as a buyer. Attending the summit will put me in contact with merchandising professionals from around the country. What an awesome opportunity to get my name out there,” she said.

For more information on the Department of Interior Design and Merchandising, its students and programs, visit


Facilities, Housekeeping Services announce award winners

The 2013 First Quarter Housekeepers Awards for Excellence recipients are, for service, Tony Battle and Wanda Dawson with Academics, Jerry Burrus with Health Sciences Campus / School of Medicine, and Eva Grimes with Residence Halls / Student Recreation Center.

The 2013 Second Quarter Facilities Services Awards for Excellence recipient is Jeremy Rogers with Building Services – Automotive Services for service.


Grimsley to read at Greenville Museum of Art



Award winning novelist and playwright Jim Grimsley will read from his fiction at the Greenville Museum of Art at 7:30 p.m. July 15. The reading is free and open to the public.

Born in Rocky Mount, Grimsley attended UNC-Chapel Hill. He lives in Atlanta, Ga., where he is on the faculty at Emory University. Grimsley will be introduced by Dr. Gary Richards, a professor at the University of Mary Washington who interviewed Grimsley for the 2009 issue of the North Carolina Literary Review.

Grimsley’s first novel, Winter Birds, published by Algonquin Books, won the American Academy of Arts and Letter’s 1995 Sue Kaufman Prize for First Fiction and also received a special citation from the Ernest Hemingway Foundation as one of three finalists for the PEN/Hemingway Award.

His second novel, Dream Boy, also published by Algonquin, won the 1996 Stonewall Prize given by the American Library Association for GLBT Literature. It has been adapted for the stage by Eric Rosen; the play premiered at About Face Theatre in Chicago. It has also been adapted into a

Grimsley has written several other novels and numerous plays, and in 1988 he was awarded the George Oppenheimer Award for the Best New American Playwright for his play Mr. Universe. In 1993, Grimsley was awarded the first-ever Bryan Prize for Drama, presented by the Fellowship of Southern Writers for distinguished achievement in playwriting. His latest book is a collection of short stories called Jesus Is Sending You This Message.

Grimsley is in Greenville in July conducting research at ECU’s Joyner Library conducing research for his next novel on the Civil Rights era in eastern North Carolina.

The Greenville Museum of Art is located at 802 South Evans Street in Greenville. Grimsley’s books will be available for purchase from The University Book Exchange. Issues of the North Carolina Literary Review featuring Jim Grimsley’s fiction and drama will also be available for purchase.

For additional information, contact Margaret Bauer, editor of NCLR, at 328-1537 or


Medical students inducted into honor society

This year’s inductees into the ECU chapter of the Gold Humanism Honor Society are, front row, left to right, Emily Pike, Josh Coltrain and Philip Leisy; second row, Erin Slatter, Colin Smith, Ransom Loftis and Lindsay Robbins; third row, Stephanie Carrier, Lindsey Fix, and Laura Pekman; top row, Emily Dell and Demi Dawkins. (Photo by Cliff Hollis)

This year’s inductees into the ECU chapter of the Gold Humanism Honor Society are, front row, left to right, Emily Pike, Josh Coltrain and Philip Leisy; second row, Erin Slatter, Colin Smith, Ransom Loftis and Lindsay Robbins; third row, Stephanie Carrier, Lindsey Fix, and Laura Pekman; top row, Emily Dell and Demi Dawkins. (Photo by Cliff Hollis)

By Doug Boyd
ECU News Services

Twelve East Carolina University medical students have been inducted into the Brody School of Medicine’s chapter of the Gold Humanism Honor Society.

The society recognizes fourth-year medical students who have excelled in clinical care, leadership, compassion and dedication to service.

The inductees are Stephanie Carrier, Josh Coltrain, Demi Dawkins, Emily Dell, Lindsey Fix, Phil Leisy, Ransom Loftis, Laura Pekman, Emily Pike, Lindsay Robbins, Erin Slatter and Colin Smith. They were chosen by their peers and endorsed by a faculty panel.

An induction ceremony was held April 22 at Ironwood Country Club. Dr. Roytessa Savage, associate professor of pediatrics at the Brody School of Medicine, was the keynote speaker.

The Gold Humanism Honor Society sponsors medical school chapter projects and events, research related to the society, physician development programs, lectures and conferences, and society communications. The goal of the society is to maintain a networked community that shares ideas, resources and support in order to sustain and advocate for humanism in medicine.

Faculty advisers for the ECU chapter are Janet Malek and Mary Ellen Wojtasiewicz, faculty members in the Department of Bioethics and Interdisciplinary Studies. The ECU chapter began in 2011, and so far 38 students have been inducted.

More information about the society is online at The Department of Bioethics and Interdisciplinary Studies at the Brody School of Medicine serves as the chapter sponsor.