Post-Doc Bios

Postdoctoral Council

Elizabeth NovakElizabeth A. Novak- President
novake@ecu.edu  (252) 744-3128
Department – Microbiology & Immunology
Education- B.A. – Biology, Berea College.
M.S. – Microbiology & Immunology, University of Louisville
Ph.D. – Microbiology & Immunology, University of Louisville
Mentor – MD Motaleb, Ph.D.
Research Summary

Terrence RyanTerence E. Ryan -Vice President
ryant@ecu.edu
Department – Physiology
B.S. – Exercise Physiology, Florida State University
M.S. – Exercise Physiology and Health Promotion , Florida Atlantic University

Ph.D. – Kinesiology, University of Georgia
Mentor – P. Darrell Neufer, Ph.D.
Research Summary

CarlyleCarlyle RogersSecretary
rogersar@ecu.edu , (252) 737-1648
www.linkedin.com/pub/carlyle-rogers/4a/b86/878
Department – Office of Technology Transfer
B.S. – Biology, East Carolina University
Ph.D. – Pharmacology and Toxicology, East Carolina  University

Mentor – Marti Van Scott, Director
Research Summary

Charlene Ding
Charlene Ding -Main Campus Representative
dingq14@ecu.edu
Department – Biology
B.A. – Biology, Tsinghua University, Beijing, China
Ph.D. – Molecular Cancer Biology, Duke University
Mentor – Beth Thompson , Ph.D.
Research Summary

Samy MoradSamy Morad-International Liasion
morads@ecu.edu
Department- Biochemistry and Molecular Biology
B.S Pharmacology, South Valley University, Egypt M.S Pharmacology, South Valley University, Egypt Ph.D.- Molecular Pharmacology , LMU Munich, Germany Mentor – Myles Cabot, Ph.D.
Research Summary

 

Anatomy
_______________________________

Byron AguilarByron Aguilar
aguilarb@ecu.edu
www.linkedin.com/in/byronjaguilar

 

Biology
____________________________________

 

Li QiuLi Qiu
qiul@ecu.edu
Department – Biology

 

 

 

Qiuling HeQuiling He
heq@ecu.edu
Department – Biology

Dental Medicine
__________________________________________

Rakhee UrankarRakhee Urankar
urankarr@ecu.edu
Department – School of Dental Medicine
Research Summary

Kinesiology
__________________________________________

Kai ZouKai Zou
zouk14@ecu.edu
Department – East Carolina Diabetes and Obesity Institute
B.S. – Kinesiology , Beijing Sport University , Beijing , China
M.S. – Exercise Biochemistry , Beijing Sport University , China
Ph.D. – Exercise Physiology , University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign
Mentor – Joseph Houmard , Ph.D.
Research Summary

Microbiology and Immunology
__________________________________________

Slyvain LaverdureSylvain Laverdure
laverdures@ecu.edu
Department – Microbiology and Immunology
B.S. – Microbiology and Biochemistry, University of Montpellier , France.
M.S. – Signaling and Integrated Systems in Biology , EPHE , Paris Sorbonne University , France
Ph.D. – Molecular Virology , university of Montpellier , France
Research Summary

Debjani GhoshDebjani Ghosh
ghoshd@ecu.edu
Department – Microbiology

Oncology
____________________________

Shinya IshizukaShinya Ishizuka
ishizukas@ecu.edu
Department – Oncology

Pharmacology and Toxicology
__________________________________________

Fanrong YaoFanrong Yao
yaof@ecu.edu
Department – Pharmacology and Toxicology
Research Summary

 

 

Steagall RebeccaRebecca . J . Steagall
steagallr@ecu.edu
https://www.linkedin.com/pub/rebecca-steagall/51/199/573
Department – Pharmacology and Toxicology
B.A. – Biology , State University of NY
M.S. – Biochemistry and Molecular Biology , Albany Medical College
Ph.D. – Biochemistry and Molecular Biology , East Tennessee University
Mentor – A. Abdel-Rahman , Ph.D.
Research Summary

Physics
___________________________

Jinda LinJinda Lin
linj@ecu.edu
Department – Physics

 

Physiology
________________________________

Joyce ChandlerJoyce Chandler
chandlerjoy@ecu.edu
Department – Physiology
B.S. – Biology , East Carolina University
DVM – Veterinary Medicine , St.George’s University
Research Summary

 

 

Gilliam_LauraLaura A. A. Gilliam
gilliaml@ecu.edu
Department – Physiology
B.S. – Biological Sciences, Morehead State University
Ph.D. – Center for Muscle Biology, University of Kentucky
Mentor – P. Darrell Neufer, Ph.D.
Research Summary

 

Xiaojia WangXiaojia Wang
wangx@ecu.edu
Department – Physiology
Ph.D. – Physiology, East Carolina University
Mentor – Michael Van Scott , Ph.D.
Research Summary

Psychology and Cardiovascular Sciences
__________________________________________________

Amanda L. WhitedAmanda L. Whited
whitedam@ecu.edu
Department – Psychology and Cardiovascular Sciences
B.S. – Psychology , Oglethorpe University
M.S. – Psychology , West Virgina University
Ph.D. – Psychology , West Virginia University
Previous postdoctoral training – UNC School of Medicine
Research Summary